Murray County MuseumMurray County Museum
Home Page | Planned Exhibits | Research Support | Want to Help? | Why a Museum in Cyberspace? | Updates
Carter's QuarterBarbed WireCherokee Removal FTCivil WarCoulter Dolls
County OfficialsDeath CertificatesEarly ChenilleEarly DoctorsEarly Newspapers
Fort MountainFree Negroes 1870GatewaysHistorical County LinesHistorical Markers
History of MurrayKorean WarLandmarks LostListsMemoirs of a Slave
Methodist ChurchMurray ArtistsMurray CemeteriesMurray CharactersMurray Census 1834
Murray FamiliesMurray Heritage BookMurray High SchoolMurray History 1911Murray Memories
Murray Post OfficesMurray QuiltsMurray SchoolsOld News StoriesPhotographs
Planned DisplaysPoemsPrized PossessionsRoad to Dalton 1950Rolling Stores
Roseville PotterySchool ValentinesStained GlassTime CapsulesVann House
Vann SlavesVeterans MemorialVietnam WarVintage ADsWar Dead
Wood VasesWorld War IWorld War IIWright Hotel 
 Murray County Museum  


Senators representing Murray County in the Georgia Legislature have not always been residents of Murray County. From 1833 until 1843 and again from 1853-1860, Murray was a senatorial district by itself. For a short time (1844-1852) Murray was a part of the 45th District. Then, for over a century it was in the 43rd senatorial district. In 1962 Murray became a part of the 54th district which now includes parts of Whitfield and Catoosa Counties. Senators representing Murray have included:

Baker, Isaac 1833-36
Bates, John 1839
Beck, Eugene Henry 1917-18
Bishop, 1840-43
Brown, Robert 1837-38
Bryant, Wallace Calvin 1949-50
Chance, Ronald F. 1951-52
Chappell, George 1851-52
Chastain, Elijah W. 1845-48
Dantzler, J.O. 1943-44
David, Austin Banks 1921-22, 27-28
Dodd, William P. 1902-03
Edmondson, James 1849-50, 57-58
Fain, Joel C. 1868-1870, 78-79
Fields, Samuel E. 1888
Fincher, W.W. (Bill), Jr. 1965 to date
Glenn, George G. 1919-20
Green, Thomas E. (M.D.) 1923-24
Harbin, T.W. 1915-17
Harlan, James M. 1890-91
Herndon, B.Z. 1900-01
Jackson, John M. 1861-63
Johnson, J.A.W. 1865-66
Jones, Thomas R. 1882-83
King, Charles N. 1898-99,1905-06
Loughridge,B. 1853-54
Martin, W.C. 1907-08
McCutchen,C.D. 1863-65
McCutchen, Frank Kelly 1937-38
McDonald, C.Ernest 1955-56
McGinty, John Roy, Jr. 1935-36, 39-40, 45-46
McKamy, James A. 1886-87
Mitchell, Erwin 1961-62
Morris, James 1855-56
Moss, C.L. 1957-58
Owens, C.T. 1911-12
Pannell, Charles Adam 1947-48, 59-60, 63
Park, Kirby 1953-54
Paschall, James Hedleston 1933-34
Pickering,V.C. 1929-31
Pitts, Logan R. 1909-10
Rankin,W.R. 1884-85
Rembert,E.W. 1892-93
Sapp, William M. 1925-26
Stark, Buell 1931-32
Starr, O.N. 1896-97,1904
Starr, Trammell 1894-95
Steed, Rufus Noel 194142
Tarver, Malcolm Conner 1913-14
Thomas, Reese S. 1963-64
Trammell, Leander Newton 1871-1874
TrammeU, Paul 1889
Treadwell, Stephen G. 1880-81
Wilson, R.E. 1859-60,1875-77

Previous PageMurray County's Elected Officials

  Murray County Museum 
Copyrighted 2005 - 2019 Murray County Museum - All Rights Reserved